Service No : IC24709

Place of birth : Sangli , Maharashtra

Service : Army

Last Rank : Second Lieutenant

Unit : 4 Para (SF)

Arm/Regt : The Parachute Regiment

Martyrdom : December 28, 1971

2nd Lt VRYR Dubbal

2nd Lt VRYR Dubbal hailed from Dulgaon village, in Sangli district of Maharashtra. He was commissioned into the 4 Para battalion of the Parachute Regiment, an infantry Regiment known for its fearless soldiers and numerous daredevil operations. As the war became imminent in the late 1971, 2nd Lt VRYR Dubbal's unit got deployed on the western border and he got involved into thick of operations very early in his service career. 


Battle of Nagi: 27/28 Dec 1971


During Dec 1971, 2nd Lt VRYR Dubbal’s unit 4 Para was deployed on the western border in Rajasthan. Indo-Pak war of 1971 ended on 16 Dec 1971 with a decisive victory for Indian forces on the eastern front. Despite the cease-fire, Pakistani forces took a provocative step of occupying a Sand Dune in Nagi village located in Sri Karanpur Tehsil in Sri Ganga Nagar district of Rajasthan. The enemy forces had occupied the Indian territory probably with an intention to embarrass the Indian Army and avenge to a small degree the humiliation they had suffered in the war. 4 Para (SF) under the command of 51 (Independent) Para Brigade of the Indian Army was tasked to evict the enemy forces and regain control of the area. It was decided to launch the attack with the elements of 4 Para, 9 Para field regiment, and 410 field company on 27 Dec 1971. 2nd Lt VRYR Dubbal was part of the team of 4 Para battalion that was assigned the task of evicting the enemy. 


As planned the attack was launched at 0400 hours on the dark, moonless night of 27/28 December by “C” Company of 4 Para. The enemy forces had fortified the area and it was dominated by heavy machine guns and mines. As the troops of “C” Company approached the Sand Dune, they faced heavy and devastatingly accurate Artillery fire from the Pakistan side. It was a very determined and aggressive attack by the enemy forces but the soldiers of 4 Para displayed exceptional courage and stood their ground. At the same time, 9 Para Field Regiment gave a befitting reply to the artillery barrage while 410 Field Company of the Corps of Engineers worked in tandem with the 4 Para troops to clear the minefield and obstacles laid by the enemy forces.


2nd Lt VRYR Dubbal and other troops of 4 Para continued their advance and finally succeeded in reclaiming the Nagi Sand Dune by 6 am on 28 Dec 1971. However, during the fierce battle, the 4 Para battalion suffered many casualties. 2nd Lt VRYR Dubbal, Maj Arun Kumar Kanal, Maj KJ Singh, and 18 other soldiers later succumbed to their injuries and were martyred. Besides the three officers, the other fallen brave-hearts included Hav Tek Bahadur Gurung, Lance Hav Bala Ram Gurung, Hav Partap Singh, Nk Ganga Datta, L/Nk S Chellaiah, Ptr VD Varkey, Ptr Anand Singh, Ptr Anand Singh Bisht, Ptr Babu Ram, Ptr Bhim Bahadur Thapa, Ptr Gajendra Singh, Ptr Gaur Singh, Ptr Joseph PT, Ptr Kamlesh Kumar, Ptr KP Udayan, Ptr Pritam Ram, Ptr Tej Singh and Gnr VP Maran. 2nd Lt VRYR Dubbal was a valiant young officer who led from the front and laid down his life in the line of his duty. A Nagi war memorial, “Shaurya Sthal” has been erected at Nagi village to honour the martyrs of the Nagi battle. The Army commemorates ‘Nagi Day” every year in the memory of gallant soldiers who laid down their lives for the nation during the famous Battle of Nagi on 27-28 December 1971.

  • If you find any information that is incorrect or inappropriate or have additional information about the soldier that can be added to his memorial site, please contact us by using the tab given below.
No Comments

Post a Comment